One of the things we do at Ontario SEO is monitor the social profiles of our clients. Last week we noticed that some of our clients
Google+ pages had been stripped of their official page names and renamed as “Default Page.” The error message that Google displays reads: “We have hidden your page and removed it from Google Maps due to changes in our system. Learn more.”
With a little research, we discovered Google is making some changes. They’re tightening up Google Places for Business and Google Maps to ensure that the information displayed is the most accurate possible. In addition to the name of your page being changed to a default name, your page has now been changed from a local page to a brand page. Reviews, owner responses, photos, offers or AdWord Express have all been removed from the page and the business information no longer appears on Google Maps.
So what does this mean for you? If you don’t have much content or any followers on your Google+ page, it’s easy to delete this page and create a new, verified page for your business. If you do have existing social content, it’s possible to migrate the information from your old page onto your new page, once it has been verified.
This post was written by Tasha DiLoreto, Content Manager at Ontario SEO.